While it’s perfectly possible to venture into the outdoors with a bedroll and a haversack containing some food and water – I’ve done that a few times on some of my past trips – technology can enhance the experience and make it more enjoyable, doubly so for kids and those who aren’t so used to being outdoors.  This is my opportunity to talk about some of the kit I’ve taken with me on recent trips, why I took certain items with me, and how they performed. 
I was more than a little concerned about going off-grid in Scotland, a place more known for its rain than blazing sunshine. However, the Jackery Explorer 1000 along with the twin 100W solar panels has been superb. I’ve been able to use the panels to keep the Jackery charged up, and the Jackery has been able to keep my laptop, power banks, phone, and drones charged too. This kit, while pricey, has performed flawlessly under far-from-ideal weather conditions.  Read the review: Jackery Solar Generator review Pros:

Lots of powerRobustVery reliable for off-grid use

Cons:

HeavyExpensiveSolar panels not waterproof

A great way to keep insects at bay. It’s quiet, doesn’t stink, takes the same gas cylinders that my cookset does, and, most important, it works. Far more effective and less of a hassle than mosquito coils, this is a must where there are biting or bothersome insects. While it hasn’t done away with the need for skin-applied repellents (in Scotland I’ve found picaridin-based repellents to be the best), it offers a way to clear tents, cook areas, and chill spots of flying nasties. Read the review: We tested Thermacell Backpacker Pros:

SmallEasy to useLasts for hours (pads last 4 hours, a gas cylinder will last many repellent pads)

Cons:

Not 100% effectiveCan emit an odor that some people find annoying

A nice rechargeable lantern that offers a choice of low light or bright light (along with a red warning light on the top), this has been perfect alongside my Jackery Solar Generator setup.  There is a crank-handle on the top for charging, but I think that’s something I’d leave for an emergency, or if I needed something to amuse children. A robust lantern that’s capable of putting up with the rigors of camp life, it lasts for weeks between recharges – though I’ve been using the low setting. Pros:

Nice, adjustable lightLong battery lifeCharge cable built-in (so it can’t be lost)

Cons:

Crank handle is only practical in emergenciesCharge cable built-in (so if it gets damaged, you have problems)

Not really tech, but the Trangia is a great cookset for one to four people. The Swedes [<– I this reference acceptable?] know how to put together good outdoor gear. Everything is robust, lightweight, and you can use a gas burner or alcohol stove (I have both, and use the alcohol burner as a backup or when backpacking). The kettle is particularly good, and it’s an item that I’ve used a lot! Pros:

Robust – will last a lifetimeLightweightEasy to cleanPacks down small

Cons:

Rattles when packed

Bottom line, this is how I stop myself from losing things like keys and wallets when outdoors. Yes, I use them a lot, and for me they are an essential part of my outdoor kit. Also: Best Bluetooth trackers: AirTag and other alternatives Pros:

WaterproofLong battery lifeNever lose anything in camp again

Cons:

Can’t replace the batteryAirTags might be a better choice for Apple users

Also remember: If you are car camping, you have a portable charger on wheels, so you might not need hardcore stuff like solar power stations. Start small, and see what your needs and interests are.
Remember, if you have shelter, food, water, and something to sleep under, your basics are covered.
Everything else is a luxury. If anything failed, my gadgets could run out of power, or I could go hungry or be sitting in the dark.